2022 Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award Nominations


Castanea Editorial Board

Additional Authors:




Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew (1912-1985) served as the Secretary of the Southern Appalachian Botanical Club from 1946 until 1981. Her life was devoted to plants, and she transferred her interest in plants and nature to students of all ages and walks of life. The Southern Appalachian Botanical Society annually presents the Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award in memory of her untiring service to the public, to plant systematics, and to this organization. This award was established in 1989 and has been presented to individuals who have also distinguished themselves in professional and public service that advances our knowledge and appreciation of the world of plants and their scientific, cultural, and aesthetic values, and/or exceptional service to the society.